Who is ophthalmologist
3 mins read

Who is ophthalmologist

Dr Kashish Gupta

Dr. Kashish Gupta is a leading Eye Surgeon in Punjab India & who specializes in Robotic Laser treatments for cataracts & correcting refractive disorders.

Who is ophthalmologist

An ophthalmologist is a medical doctor who specializes in the diagnosis and treatment of eye diseases and disorders. They are trained to provide a comprehensive range of eye care services, including prescribing glasses and contact lenses, performing eye surgery, and treating both common and rare eye conditions. In this article, we will discuss the education and training required to become an ophthalmologist, their job responsibilities, and the various subspecialties within the field.

Education and Training

To become an ophthalmologist, an individual must complete an undergraduate degree, followed by four years of medical school. After graduating from medical school, they must complete a one-year internship and a three-year residency program in ophthalmology. During their residency, they receive hands-on training in the diagnosis and treatment of eye diseases and disorders, as well as in the use of surgical techniques.

Following their residency, ophthalmologists may choose to complete a fellowship program in a specific subspecialty of ophthalmology, such as pediatric ophthalmology, glaucoma, or retina. Fellowship programs typically last one to two years and provide additional specialized training.

Job Responsibilities

Ophthalmologists are responsible for diagnosing and treating a wide range of eye conditions, including cataracts, glaucoma, macular degeneration, and diabetic retinopathy. They also perform routine eye exams, prescribe glasses and contact lenses, and provide advice on eye care and eye health.

In addition to providing general eye care, ophthalmologists also perform surgical procedures to treat eye conditions. Some of the most common surgical procedures performed by ophthalmologists include cataract surgery, LASIK, and corneal transplant surgery.


There are several subspecialties within the field of ophthalmology, each focusing on a specific area of eye care. Some of the most common subspecialties include:

  • Pediatric ophthalmology: Pediatric ophthalmologists specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of eye conditions in children, including lazy eye, crossed eyes, and other vision problems that can develop during childhood.
  • Glaucoma: Glaucoma specialists diagnose and treat glaucoma, a condition that causes damage to the optic nerve and can lead to blindness if left untreated.
  • Retina: Retina specialists focus on the diagnosis and treatment of conditions that affect the retina, such as macular degeneration and diabetic retinopathy.
  • Cornea: Cornea specialists diagnose and treat conditions that affect the cornea, such as corneal dystrophy and keratoconus.
  • Neuro-ophthalmology: Neuro-ophthalmologists specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of eye conditions that are related to the nervous system, such as optic neuritis and double vision.
  • Oculoplastics: Oculoplastic surgeons perform surgery on the eyelids, orbit, and tear ducts to correct deformities and other conditions.


Ophthalmologists play a critical role in the diagnosis and treatment of eye conditions, helping patients to maintain their vision and overall eye health. With their extensive education and training, ophthalmologists are equipped to provide a wide range of eye care services, from prescribing glasses and contact lenses to performing complex surgical procedures. By specializing in specific areas of eye care, ophthalmologists are able to provide the highest level of care to their patients, helping them to achieve optimal eye health and vision.